Eatout.in Restaurant Listing Foodie Corner Read Reviews Best Offers Contact Us
 
  Enjoying your eatout!  
  Dining etiquette
All about cuisines
Healthy food
Hosting a party
  Know More...  
 

Food Articles
Beverages
Desserts
Food jokes
Food quotations
Subscribe to mailers
Glossary

Search in Eatoutzone


Google: Yahoo: MSN:


LACTO-OVO VEGETARIANISM

   

 

 

A lacto-ovo vegetarian (or ovo-lacto vegetarian, and sometimes incorrectly referred to as octo-lacto vegetarian, as "octo" means eight) is a vegetarian who consumes dairy products (i.e. milk and its derivatives, like cheese, butter, or yogurt) and eggs. Lacto means "dairy" and ovo means "eggs". Contrast this with strict vegetarians and vegans who consume neither.

In the Western world lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian.

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarianism
Lacto-Ovo Vegetarianism
 

Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian a lacto-ovo vegetarian is assumed. Lacto-ovo vegetarians are well-catered to in restaurants and shops, especially in Europe .

 

 

 

Back To Diet Articles
Top

 
This entry is from Wikipedia, the leading user-contributed encyclopedia. It may not have been reviewed by professional editors (see full disclaimer)  
home . listings . foodies . review . offers . contact
food trivia . best deals .city guide . get listed . membership . enquiries